because I have so much for which to be grateful

Walking Partner

This is Chewie, our beagle. He is the best dog. Always up for a walk. He walks with me when I walk the boys to school in the morning (2.2 miles) and walks with us when we take our family walks after dinner (1.5 miles). Today was my volunteer day at school so we didn’t get our morning walk. When I came home for lunch I decided to take him for a mid-day walk. It was almost noon. It was 95° and about 75% humidity. Our route was about 2.3 miles. About half way through he really started flagging. On the way back he stopped at every shady spot and threw himself on the ground. But I wasn’t about to pick up this 30 pound hot potato and carry him home (I was hot too!). So I made him continue on. When we got home he totally collapsed. He is panting HARD in this picture. Poor baby. I had to bring a water bowl over to him, because he was too pooped to get up and walk to his bowl. But he recovered in about 20 minutes, no worries. I am grateful for my walking partner.

2 responses

  1. He is adorable! He sure does look tuckered out.

    October 28, 2010 at 10:36 pm

  2. I love this picture! It says 1000 words… I love the blank stare and the tongue drooping on the floor. Soooo cute!

    October 29, 2010 at 1:35 am

Leave a Reply

