because I have so much for which to be grateful

Hand and Footprints in Concrete

This morning I was reading Retta’s blog, and she wrote about putting her kids’ footprints in fresh concrete. It reminded me of something I haven’t thought about in a long time. A few years ago (well, apparently Sept. 2003, so seven years ago) we had to have our back porch supports re-footed. So we had some fresh concrete and I had Cal, then two years old and still an only child, stick his little hand and foot in there. Wow, time really flies. Now he’s nine, and he’s grown so much. I don’t think we’ll be in this house forever (hopefully not, we’ve totally outgrown it). But it’s the house where I had my two babies. It’s the only home they’ve known. Thank you Retta for inspiring me to take a photo of this, so when we leave this house I will always have this memory. I am grateful for hand and footprints in concrete.

2 responses

  1. Love this! I can’t believe how big his foot and hand is now compared to his prints. It’s amazing how fast they grow. It’s both happy and sad!

    October 21, 2010 at 9:02 pm

  2. So sweet!

    October 22, 2010 at 9:40 am

Leave a Reply

