because I have so much for which to be grateful

Uno

My six year old, Mack, asks me all the time to play Uno. Sometimes I am too busy. Sometimes I just don’t feel like it. But it is so sweet that he wants to play with me…I know these days are fleeting and very soon he’ll be way too cool to play games with Mom. He has learned to be a good sport. That the fun is in the playing, not in the winning. He has learned math and strategy. Most importantly, it is something we have spent HOURS doing together. I am grateful for Uno.

3 responses

  1. I am in my mid-30s and there hasn’t ever been a moment where I’ve been too cool for family game night. I grew up playing Uno, Skip Bo and Phase 10 with my grandparents and Cribbage, Boggle and Rummy with my dad. Someone recently asked my grandmother how she got such lovely, respectful grandchildren. She said “We always play cards together.” 🙂

    October 7, 2010 at 7:45 pm

  2. I have the best memories of playing uno with my family when I was kid! It is so nice you are making these memories with him now.

    October 8, 2010 at 9:10 am

  3. I love UNO! My family would play it all the time when I was a kid. One of the best memories I have of a cruise I went on with my family a few years ago was when we were all hanging out in my parents room playing uno 🙂

    October 11, 2010 at 9:03 pm

Leave a Reply

